Understanding the Precepts of the Reiki Ideals

The Reiki Ideals, often referred to as the Five Reiki Principles or the Five Reiki Precepts, are a set of ethical and spiritual guidelines associated with the practice of Reiki, a form of energy healing. These principles are intended to promote personal growth, inner peace, and harmony. They were originally taught by Mikao Usui, the founder of Reiki, and have been passed down through Reiki practitioners. Here are the Reiki Ideals and an explanation of each:

1. Just for today, I will not be angry.
This principle encourages practitioners to let go of anger, resentment, and negative emotions. By choosing not to be angry, one can cultivate inner peace and maintain a sense of calm, which is believed to be essential for effective energy healing.

2. Just for today, I will not worry.
Worry and anxiety can be detrimental to overall well-being. This principle encourages living in the present moment and letting go of concerns about the past or future. It emphasizes the importance of being present and mindful.

3. Just for today, I will be grateful.
Gratitude is a powerful emotion that can improve one’s outlook on life. This principle promotes acknowledging and appreciating the blessings and positive aspects of life. It encourages a mindset of thankfulness.

4. Just for today, I will do my work honestly.
Honesty and integrity are emphasized here. This principle encourages practitioners to be truthful and act with integrity in all their endeavors, including their Reiki practice.

5. Just for today, I will be kind to every living thing.
Compassion and kindness are central to this principle. It calls for treating all living beings with respect and love, recognizing the interconnectedness of all life.

It’s important to note that these principles are not meant to be followed rigidly but rather as guiding principles to aspire to in daily life. Many Reiki practitioners use these ideals as a source of personal growth and reflection, aiming to integrate them into their lives as they work on their own well-being and their practice of Reiki.

The Reiki Ideals serve as a foundation for the spiritual and ethical aspects of Reiki, promoting self-awareness, emotional healing, and the development of a healing environment for both the practitioner and the recipient.

I have found these Reiki Ideals to be at the heart of helping each of us to being a more kind, loving and compassionate person to both ourselves and to others. I do believe these principles will guide you to what Mikao Usui refers to as Reiki, the miraculous medicine of all diseases, the secret art of inviting happiness. It is not that I do not have struggles in life, but it is how I perceive these struggles.

Thank You Reiki for helping me to be in the present, to be awake and aware of the beauty of life.

Receiving the gift of Reiki is like receiving the “Keys to the Universe”.

Julie Russell
ICRT Senior Reiki Master Teacher